Pakatan Harapan Announces Leadership Structure

PETALING JAYA, July 14 (Bernama) -- The opposition Pakatan Harapan pact announced its leadership structure early today, with Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as 'ketua umum' (de facto leader), Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as chairman and Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as president.

Anwar is the de facto leader of PKR, Dr Mahathir is chairman of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) and Dr Wan Azizah is president of PKR. The pact also includes DAP and Parti Amanah Negara.

PPBM president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and Amanah president Mohamad Sabu were appointed deputy presidents of the pact.

These details were announced by Dr Mahathir at a press conference after midnight following a meeting of the Pakatan Harapan presidential council , which lasted for about five hours, at the PKR headquarters.

Dr Mahathir said the leadership line-up was agreed to by the four parties.

He also said that the Pakatan Harapan leadership structure and logo would be sent to the Registrar of Societies within a week for registration.