PCS, Anak Negeri to contest in 29 state, 11 parliamentary seats

KOTA KINABALU, April 27 (Bernama) -- Sabah local parties Parti Cinta Sabah (PCS) and Parti Kerjasama Anak Negeri (Anak Negeri) have joined forces to contest in 29 state and 11 Parliamentary seats in the 14th General Election (GE14) this May 9.

Announcing the candidates for PCS in a joint event here today was its president Datuk Wilfred Mojilip Bumburing, who stated that the party would contest in eight Parliamentary and 18 state seats, while Anak Negeri president Datuk Henrynus Amin announced that the party would contest in three Parliamentary and 11 state seats.

Bumburing, the Tamparuli state seat incumbent, will be defending the seat while Henrynus, a former PBS secretary general, will be contesting the Kundasang state seat.

Kapayan state seat incumbent Dr Edwin Bossi, who won the seat while a DAP member, was picked to contest the Penampang parliamentary seat on the Anak Negeri ticket.

There is no woman candidate in Anak Negeri's list, while PCS will field two women candidates, including former Matunggong assemblywoman Jornah Mozihim, who would be seeking the votes from the same constituency in this election.

She won the Matunggong state seat on a PBS ticket in GE11 in 2004, but did not contest in GE12 in 2008.