Former Perak MB among 10 sworn in as State Exco members

KUALA KANGSAR, May 19 (Bernama) -- Former Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin is among the 10 who were sworn in as state executive council (exco) members today.

All of them took their oath of office before the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah at Istana Iskandariah here.

Five of the exco members were from DAP, namely A.Sivanesan, the assemblyman for Sungkai; Wong May Ing (Pantai Remis); Yong Choo Kiong (Tronoh); Dr Abdul Aziz Bari (Tebing Tinggi); Lee Chuan How (Pasir Pinji).

Three others were from Amanah, namely Muhammad Nizar, who is the assemblyman for Sungai Rapat, Asmuni Awi (Manjoi) and Hasnul Zulkarnain Abdul Munaim (Titi Serong), while the other two were from PKR, namely Tan Kar Hing (Simpang Pulai) and Abdul Yunus Jamhari (Kuala Kurau).

However, their portfolios would be announced later.

In the 14th General Election on May 9, the Pakatan Harapan (PH) won 29 out of the 59 state seats, but managed to form the State Government after securing a simple majority of 31 seats after two Barisan Nasional (BN) crossed over and pledged their support to the alliance.

Menteri Besar Ahmad Faizal Azumu, who is Chenderiang assemblyman, was sworn in as Menteri Besar on May 12.