10 Kedah exco take oath of office

ALOR SETAR, May 22 (Bernama) -- Ten assemblymen comprising eight new faces sworn in as members of State Executive Council (exco) before the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Sallehuddin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah today.

The line-up of exco comprising four PKR, three (Amanah), two (Bersatu) and one DAP assemblymen took their oath in a ceremony at Balairung Seri Besar, Istana Anak Bukit here.

The eight new faces are Bukit Kayu Hitam assemblyman Halimaton Saadiah Saad (PPBM), Kota Siputeh assemblyman Dr Salmee Said (Amanah), Bukit Selambau assemblyman R Summugam (PKR), Bakar Arang assemblyman Ooi Tze Min (PKR), Lunas assemblyman Azman Nasrudin (PKR), Kubang Rotan assemblyman Mohd Asmirul Anuar Aris (Amanah).

Also appointed were Suka Menanti assemblyman Zamri Yusuf (PKR) and Derga assemblyman Tan Kok Yew (DAP).

Meanwhile, the two assemblymen who had served under the PAS administration in 2008, Anak Bukit assemblyman Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah (PPBM) as well as Pengkalan Kundor assemblyman Datuk Dr Ismail Salleh (Amanah) were also appointed as exco members.

Also present at the ceremony were the Sultanah of Kedah, Sultanah Maliha Tengku Ariff as well as the Raja Muda of Kedah, Tengku Sarafudin Badlishah Sultan Sallehuddin.

Present were the Tunku Temenggong of Kedah Tan Sri Tunku Puteri Intan Safinaz Almarhum Sultan Abdul Halim as well as the Tunku Laksamana of Kedah, Datuk Tunku Shazuddin Arif Sultan Sallehuddin.

Also present was Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir who took his oath of office on May 11 at Balairung Seri Kecil in Istana Anak Bukit.

It was learned, all exco members would be attending the first exco meeting at Wisma Darul Aman tomorrow.

Following is the full list of exco members and their portfolios.

  • Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir: chairman of State Economic Planning Committee, State Land Affairs, Land Revenue, and Natural Resources Committee as well as State Action Council.
  • Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah : chairman of State Finance, State Government-Owned Companies, Industry and Investment and Religion Affairs Committee.
  • Datuk Dr Ismail Salleh: chairman of State Information, Health and Rural Development Committee.
  • Tan Kok Yew: chairman of State Tourism, Local Government and Housing Committee.
  • Zamri Yusuf: chairman of State Science, Innovation, Information Technology, Public Works, Water Supply and Source and Energy Committee.
  • Azman Nasruddin: chairman of State Agriculture and Agro-based Industry, Transport and Human Development Committee.
  • Mohd Asmirul Anuar Aris: chairman of State Youth and Sports, Culture, Art, and Heritage, Entrepreneurship Development and Non-governmental Organisations Committee.
  • Ooi Tze Min: chairman of State Chinese and Siamese Affairs, Human Resources and Environment Committee.
  • Dr Salmee Said: chairman of State Education, Communication and High Technology and Domestic Trade Committee.
  • R. Summugam: chairman of State Indian Affairs, Unity, Consumer Affairs and Cooperatives Committee.
  • Halimaton Saadiah Saad: chairman of State Women Development, Community Welfare and Poverty Eradication Committee.

    -- BERNAMA