Services of LA councillors appointed by previous government in Perak terminated

IPOH, May 23 (Bernama) -- The services of all local authority (LA) councillors in Perak who were appointed by the previous government are terminated with immediate effect, Perak Menteri Besar Ahmad Faizal Azumu announced today.

The Pakatan Harapan Perak chairman said the appointment of new councillors would be announced by State Housing, Local Government, Public Transport, Non-Muslim Affairs and New Villages Committee chairman Yong Choo Kiong soon.

"At the same time, public amenities like community halls which are supervised by village headmen will now be fully taken over by the district offices or the office of the Penghulu," he told a press conference after chairing the first meeting of the state executive council of the new Pakatan Harapan government in Perak at Bangunan Perak Darul Ridzuan here today.

Pakatan Harapan wrested Perak from the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition in the 14th general election on May 9.

Meanwhile, on the Malaysia Games 2018 which Perak will be hosting in September, Ahmad Faizal it would proceed as planned and would be handled by State Youth, Sports and Human Capital Development Committee chairman Lee Chuan How.

"We hope Howard (Lee Chuan How) will continue with all the preparations. On the part of the Federal Government, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has approved an additional allocation to ensure the Games go smoothly," he said without disclosing the amount.

Ahmad Faizal also announced the portfolios in the state executive line up with the Chenderiang assemblyman himself taking up the Finance, Security Land, GLCs, Natural Resources and Economic Planning portfolio.

Besides the two portfolios mentioned above, former Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin who is Sungai Rapat assemblyman has been appointed as the chairman of the State Investment and Corridor Development Committee chairman while Asmun Awi (Manjoi) is the State Religious and Islamic Education, Industry, Rural and Entrepreneur Development Committee chairman.

Kuala Kurau assemblyman Abdul Yunus Jamhari holds the Public Amenities, Infrastructure, Agriculture, and Plantations portfolio; Tebing Tinggi assemblyman Dr Abdul Aziz Bari (Education, Science, Environment, Green Technology and Information); Sungkai assemblyman A. Sivanesan (Health, Consumer Affairs, Civil Society, National Integration and Human Resources).

Pantai Remis assemblyman Wong May Ing (Character Development, Women and Family Development and Social Welfare); Simpang Pulai assemblyman Tan Kar Hing (Tourism, Arts and Culture) and Titi Serong assemblyman Hasnul Zulkarnain Abdul Munaim (Communication, Multimedia, NGOs and Cooperatives.