New Selangor MB to be sworn in on June 19

SHAH ALAM, May 30 (Bernama) -- The Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, has given his consent for the new Selangor menteri besar to be sworn in on June 19.

The sultan's private secretary, Datuk Mohamad Munir Bani, said today the swearing-in ceremony would be held at the Balairung Seri (Throne Room) of Istana Alam Shah in Klang.

"Following the upcoming appointment, Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali will also resign as the Selangor menteri besar on the same date (June 19)," he said in a statement.

Selangor is to get a new menteri besar as Mohamed Azmin has been appointed the Minister of Economic Affairs in the Federal Government.

Mohamed Azmin, 54, who is also the PKR deputy president, was sworn in as the Selangor menteri besar for the second term on May 11. He was first sworn in on Sept 23, 2014.

Among the Selangor elected representatives tipped to replace Mohamed Azmin as the menteri besar are Seri Setia state assemblyman Prof Dr Shaharuddin Badaruddin, Sungai Tua state assemblyman Amirudin Shari, Sungai Kandis state assemblyman Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei, Ijok state assemblyman Dr Idris Ahmad and Paya Jaras state assemblyman Mohd Khairuddin Othman.