19 Sabah Assemblymen sworn in today

KOTA KINABALU, June 12 (Bernama) -- Nineteen of the 21 Sabah assemblymen who were absent at the special sitting of the State Legislative Assembly yesterday, were sworn in before Speaker Datuk Syed Abbas Syed Ali, today.

The assemblymen involved were nine from UMNO; six (Parti Bersatu Sabah); two (Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku); and one each from Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah and UPKO, who were sworn in at the Speaker's office, here.

Among the assemblymen who were sworn in today were Datuk Hajiji Mohd Noor (Sulaman); Datuk Masidi Manjun (Karanaan); Datuk Mohd Arifin Mohd Arif (Membakut); Datuk Jahid Jahim (Tamparuli); Datuk Joniston Bangkuai (Kiulu); and Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan (Tambunan).

Two assemblymen from UMNO were absent at today's ceremony, namely former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman (Sungai Sibuga) and Datuk Nizam Abu Bakar Titingan (Apas).

Meanwhile, Masidi told reporters that there was no issue regarding the swearing-in ceremony today as the important thing was the presence of the speaker.

In the meantime, Hajiji said they would continue to perform their duties as elected representatives by serving the people in their respective constituencies.

Yesterday, a total of 43 assemblymen were sworn in before the speaker at the special state assembly sitting, which was also the first session after the 14th General Election (GE14) last month.

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, who is also Senallang assemblyman, led the assemblymen in taking their oath, followed by his three deputies Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau, Christina Liew and Datuk Jaujan Sambakong.